What is the Northview PROMISE?

Passion – We are passionate in the way we serve our residents and care for our properties
Respect – We will respect residents and fellow team members at all times

Open – We will remain open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, to assist our residents when they need us the most

Maintain – We will maintain our properties to the best of our abilities

Information/Communication – We will effectively communicate with our residents and keep them informed on any concerns regarding their suite or property

Safety – We will provide our residents and team members with a safe and secure living and working environment

Excellence – We will offer our residents the best rental experience, through customer service excellence

Northview PROMISE

What is Northview's Cannabis Policy?

With the upcoming legalization of cannabis on October 17, 2018, Northview has carefully considered its own policies on the consumption and cultivation of cannabis.

To protect and promote the safety and well-being of all our residents, including our tenants' right to the peaceful enjoyment of their homes, Northview will prohibit the smoking and cultivation of cannabis (or any related products) on any Northview properties, including in all suites and common areas.

Northview will, however, permit residents to consume cannabis in other forms (i.e. through means other than smoking), to the extent such consumption does not interfere with our tenants' right to the peaceful enjoyment of their homes.

For more information, or if you wish to discuss personal circumstances warranting special consideration, please contact the office in your region.

Qui est-ce que je peux contacter pour visiter un appartement ?

Pour organiser la visite d’une unité, veuillez communiquer avec le coordonnateur de location indiqué pour l’immeuble que vous désirez visiter. Le coordinateur de location peut être joint par téléphone ou en remplissant le formulaire « Renseignez-vous maintenant » pour les propriétés qui se trouvent sur notre site Web.

Est-ce que les services publics sont inclus dans le loyer ?

Les services publics inclus varient d’un bâtiment à l’autre. Certains immeubles n’incluent aucun service public, tandis que d’autres incluent le chauffage, l’eau chaude ou l’électricité. Pour déterminer ce que votre logement potentiel inclut, vérifier sous l’annexe « Installations » se retrouve dans les spécifications sur la propriété.

Est-ce que les animaux de compagnie sont acceptés dans l’immeuble où je veux habiter ?

Nous autorisons les animaux domestiques dans la plupart de nos immeubles. Pour déterminer si l’appartement de votre choix accepte les animaux, consultez l’annexe « Commodités » se retrouve dans les spécifications sur la propriété. Pour les animaux de compagnie, un dépôt de garantie peut être exigé et des restrictions de race/taille s’appliquent.

Est-ce que les appartements sont tous meublés ?

Northview propose des unités meublées dans une sélection d’immeubles et cela dans la plupart de nos régions. Pour plus d’informations, remplissez le formulaire « Renseignez-vous maintenant » pour les propriétés qui se trouvent sur notre site Web ou appelez pour plus de détails.

Qu'est-ce qui est requis lorsque je suis prêt à faire une demande pour louer unappartement?

Vous devrez remplir une demande qui comprend vos références et nous fournir une pièce d’identité avec photo, une preuve de revenu et votre dépôt de garantie pour le loyer du dernier mois dernier.

Combien de temps prend le processus de vérification ?

Nous allons examiner votre demande immédiatement et vous recevrez une réponse de notre personnel dans les 24 heures concernant l’état de votre demande. Vous pourriez recevoir un refus ou une approbation conditionnelle si nous attendons toujours de parler avec vos références.

Ai-je besoin d'un co-signataire (garant) pour mon bail?

Northview vous contactera après la soumission de votre demande pour vous informer si un cosignataire est nécessaire. Un exemple typique de cosignataire serait un parent ou un tuteur et ils seraient également tenus de remplir une demande complète.

Quelle est la durée d’un bail ?

Un contrat de location standard a une durée d’un (1) an. Le bail est un contrat de location conclu entre un propriétaire et un locataire afin de définir leurs engagements respectifs concernant un logement. Il est un contrat légal régi par les règles de la Régie du logement qui est signé à la fois par le locataire et Northview Apartment REIT. Il décrit toutes les règles auxquelles les deux parties doivent se conformer. D’autres termes de location peuvent être offerts pour la propriété que vous souhaitez habiter. Pour plus d’informations, contactez le bureau régional.

Et si je veux / dois mettre fin à mon bail plus tôt?

Si un locataire quitte les lieux avant l'expiration du bail, le locataire sera responsable du loyer restant pour les locaux jusqu'à l'expiration du bail ou jusqu'à la date à laquelle la suite est occupée par un autre locataire. Cependant, chez Northview, nous comprenons que la vie se passe et qu'il y a des situations hors de votre contrôle, nous allons donc travailler avec vous pour relouer votre unité, vous pouvez également assigner le reste de votre location à un locataire approprié (basé sur l'approbation d'une nouvelle application). Il est préférable d'aviser votre bureau régional le plus tôt possible afin de discuter de toutes les options disponibles et des frais éventuels si vous devez rompre votre bail.

Est-ce que j’ai besoin d’une assurance locataire pour louer un logement ?

Northview Apartment REIT exige que tous les locataires aient une assurance locataire, une preuve sera exigée lors de l'emménagement et du renouvellement.

Quand est-ce que je dois payer mon loyer ?

Le loyer est dû le premier jour de chaque mois.

Que faire si le premier jour du mois tombe un week-end ou un jour férié?

Les bureaux sont généralement ouverts pour un minimum de 3 heures si le premier jour du mois tombe un weekend ou un jour fériés, sauf le 1er janvier, où tous les bureaux sont fermés. Les heures seront affichées dans tous les bâtiments à l’avance.

Comment faire pour payer mon loyer ?

Nous avons plusieurs options pour payer votre loyer ! Nous acceptons les chèques postdatés, les chèques certifiés, les mandats de poste, les cartes de débit et de crédit (certains emplacements). Cependant, notre méthode de paiement la plus pratique et la plus avantageuse est le débit préautorisé d’un compte bancaire.

À qui je dois adresser mon chèque ?

Vos chèques de loyer et vos mandats poste peuvent être libellés à l’ordre de « NPR Limited Partnership ».

Est-ce que Northview Apartment REIT accepte l’argent comptant ?

Non, nous adhérons à une politique stricte concernant le paiement en argent comptant.

Quelles sont les conséquences si je suis en retard pour payer mon loyer ?

Si le loyer n’est pas reçu au plus tard le premier du mois, nous émettrons un avis de retard ou une expulsion et votre compte sera facturé des frais de retard conformément à votre contrat de location. Northview adhérera à la loi de la régie du logement si le paiement n’est pas reçu en temps opportun, ce qui pourrait entraîner une expulsion.

À qui appartient la responsabilité des réparations ?

Le propriétaire est responsable de l’entretien de la propriété de location. Cependant, il est de la responsabilité du locataire de soumettre des demandes d’entretien pour des réparations.

Comment signaler un problème dans mon unité / bâtiment?

Northview facilite la soumission des demandes d’entretien  en offrant plusieurs méthodes pour accommoder nos résidents :

• Par le bureau régional — par téléphone ou en personne

•par courriel

• Sur notre site Web — www.northviewreit.com/residents

• À travers la propriété Vista (certaines régions)

• Ligne d’entretien national 24 heures sur 24 au 1-844-55-NORTH

Est-ce qu'un employé de Northview Apartment REIT peut entrer dans mon appartement?

En vertu de la Loi sur la location à usage d’habitation, un locateur est autorisé à entrer dans un appartement en fournissant un avis écrit de 24 heures, en indiquant le moment et la raison de l’entrée. Il y a des exceptions à cette règle lorsque survient le besoin de réparations urgentes et nécessaires ou une permission verbale/écrite a été fournie par un locataire.

Qu’est-ce qui est considérée comme une réparation urgente ?

  • • Problèmes de chauffage (surtout pendant les mois d’hiver)
    •Feu
    •Sécurité
    • Inondation — c.-à-d. : Toilettes/robinets/douche/plafond/tuyaux
    • Toilettes bouchées
    • Fuite de chaudière à eau chaude
    • Réfrigérateur ou congélateur ne fonctionne pas
    • Ascenseurs (piégés à l’intérieur ou en panne)
    • Appels des services d’urgence - Police, GRC, Service d’incendie.
    • Une serrure défectueuse sur une porte d’accès au logement/clé cassée dans la serrure
    • Un défaut des installations électrique, lors de la formation d’étincelles ou lorsque des équipements vitaux sont       impliqués
    • Fuite de gaz ou odeurs suspectes

Qui est-ce que je dois contacter pour une urgence après les heures de bureau ?

Les résidents peuvent communiquer avec notre ligne d’entretien 24 heures réservée exclusivement aux résidents de Northview Apartment REIT au 1-844-55-NORTH (66 784). Un représentant en direct est offert 24 heures sur 24 et 7 jours sur 7 pour prendre votre appel et l’envoyer à votre bureau régional.

Combien de temps faut-il à Northview pour traiter une demande d’entretien non urgente?

La politique de Northview consiste à accuser réception de toutes les demandes d'entretien non urgentes dans un délai d'un jour ouvrable et à faire exécuter les demandes non urgentes dans les trois jours ouvrables, à moins que des pièces ne soient commandées ou qu'un entrepreneur soit requis. Si un délai est prévu, un représentant de Northview discutera avec le résident.

Les demandes d'entretien urgentes seront traitées immédiatement par l'équipe sur place ou par le personnel de garde après les heures d'ouverture.

Qu’arrive-t-il lorsque mon bail se termine ?

Trois mois avant la fin de votre bail, Northview vous enverra une lettre de renouvellement indiquant les nouveaux tarifs de location fondés sur un bail d’un an, un bail de six mois ou une durée mensuelle. Une fois que vous aurez décidé de renouveler votre contrat avec Northview, vous devrez aviser le bureau régional par écrit de la durée de votre bail. Si vous devez déménager à la fin de votre bail, vous devez nous fournir, par écrit, votre avis de partir selon les termes de votre contrat de location.

Est-ce que vous avez des espaces commerciales à louer?

Northview a des espaces commerciales à louer dans certaines propriétés, selon la disponibilité. Pour plus d’informations, remplissez le formulaire « Renseignez-vous maintenant » pour la propriété trouvée sur notre site Web ou appelez pour plus de détails.

Pourquoi choisir Northview Apartment REIT?

La passion de Northview à travers le Canada est d’offrir à nos clients un endroit où ils se sentent chez eux !Ces habitations constituent les quartiers où nous sommes fiers de vivre, de travailler et de jouer, aux côtés de nos résidents, des clients de l’hôtel et des locataires commerciaux. Chez Northview, nous mettons l’accent sur nos employés et nos propriétés afin d’offrir de la valeur à nos résidents et à nos investisseurs, tout en investissant dans les collectivités que nous desservons. Pour plus de raisons de choisir Northview comme lieu de résidence, veuillez visiter les sections « À propos de nous » et « PROMOTION Northview » de notre site Web.

What is the Northview PROMISE?

Passion – We are passionate in the way we serve our residents and care for our properties
Respect – We will respect residents and fellow team members at all times

Open – We will remain open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, to assist our residents when they need us the most

Maintain – We will maintain our properties to the best of our abilities

Information/Communication – We will effectively communicate with our residents and keep them informed on any concerns regarding their suite or property

Safety – We will provide our residents and team members with a safe and secure living and working environment

Excellence – We will offer our residents the best rental experience, through customer service excellence

Northview PROMISE

What is Northview's Cannabis Policy?

With the upcoming legalization of cannabis on October 17, 2018, Northview has carefully considered its own policies on the consumption and cultivation of cannabis.

To protect and promote the safety and well-being of all our residents, including our tenants' right to the peaceful enjoyment of their homes, Northview will prohibit the smoking and cultivation of cannabis (or any related products) on any Northview properties, including in all suites and common areas.

Northview will, however, permit residents to consume cannabis in other forms (i.e. through means other than smoking), to the extent such consumption does not interfere with our tenants' right to the peaceful enjoyment of their homes.

For more information, or if you wish to discuss personal circumstances warranting special consideration, please contact the office in your region.

How can I arrange a viewing of a Northview Apartment REIT suite?

To arrange a viewing of a unit please contact the Leasing Coordinator listed for the apartment building that you are interested in viewing either by phone or by completing the "Inquire Now" form for the property found on our website.

Are any utilities included in the rent?

Included utilities vary from building to building. Some buildings do not include any utilities, while others include heat, hot water, and/or electricity. To determine what your prospective building includes, check under the "Amenities" section of the specific property's page.

Are pets allowed in the buildings?

We allow pets in most of our properties. To determine whether your prospective building is Pet Friendly check under the "Amenities" section of the specific property's page. For pet friendly properties, a pet fee or deposit may be required and breed/size restrictions apply.

Are the apartments furnished?

Northview offers furnished suites at selected buildings in most of our regions. For further information, complete the "Inquire Now" form for the property found on our website or call for more details.

What is required when I am ready to apply for an apartment?

You will be required to complete an application that includes your references and provide us with your photo ID, proof of income and your security deposit or last month's rent for Ontario prospects.

How long does the application process take?

We review your application immediately and you will hear back from our staff within 24 hours regarding the status of your application. You may be provided with a decline or a conditional approval if we are still waiting to speak with your references.

Do I require a co-signer (guarantor) for my lease?

Northview will contact you after your application has been submitted to let you know if a co-signer is necessary. A typical example of a co-signer would be a parent or guardian and they would be required to complete a full application as well.

How long is the term on the lease agreement?

A standard rental lease agreement has a one (1) year term.  The lease agreement is a legal contract governed by the rules of the Residential Tenancy Act that is signed by both the tenant(s) and Northview Apartment REIT. It outlines all the rules to which both parties must comply. Other lease terms may be available for your desired property. For further information, contact the regional office.

What if I want/need to end my lease early?

Should a tenant vacate the premises prior to the expiration of the Lease, the tenant will be responsible for the remaining rent for the premises up until the expiration of the Lease or until the date the suite is occupied by another tenant. However, at Northview we understand that life happens and there are situations out of your control so we will work with you in an effort to re-rent your unit, you can also assign the remainder of your tenancy to a suitable renter (based on approval of a new application). It is best to notify your Regional Office as soon as possible to discuss all options available and potential fees required should you need to break your lease.

Do I need renters' insurance?

Northview Apartment REIT requires that all tenants have renters' insurance, proof will be required at move in and renewal.

When is my rent due?

Rent is due on the first day of every month.

What if the first of the month falls on a weekend or a holiday?

Offices are typically open for a minimum of 3 hours if the first of the month falls on a weekend or holiday except January 1st, where all offices are closed. The hours will be posted in all buildings in advance.

How can I pay my rent?

We have multiple options to pay your rent! We accept post-dated cheques, certified cheques, money orders, debit and credit card (select locations). However, our most convenient and preferred way to pay is by pre-authorized debit from a bank account.

Who do I make my rent cheques, certified cheques or money orders payable to?

Your rent cheques and money orders can be made payable to "NPR Limited Partnership".

Does Northview Apartment REIT accept cash?

No, we adhere to a strict no cash policy.

What if I am late on my rent?

If rent isn't received by the first of the month, we will issue a late notice or an eviction and your account will be charged a late fee in accordance with your lease agreement. Northview will adhere to the Residential Tenancy Act if payment isn't received in a timely manner which could result in an eviction.

Who is responsible for repairs?

The landlord is responsible for maintaining the rental property. However, it is the tenant's responsibility to submit maintenance requests for suite repairs.

How do I report a problem in my unit/building?

Northview makes it easy to submit maintenance requests by offering multiple methods to accommodate our residents:

  • Through the Regional Office - by phone or in person
  • By email
  • On our website – www.northviewreit.com/residents
  • Through Property Vista (select regions)
  • National 24hr maintenance line at 1-844-55-NORTH

Can a Northview Apartment REIT employee enter my apartment?

Under the Residential Tenancies Act, a landlord is allowed to enter an apartment by providing 24 hours written notice, stating the reason for entering and when the apartment will be entered. There are exceptions, such as the case of emergency or if verbal/written permission has been provided by a lessee.

What is considered an emergency?

  • Heating issues (especially during winter months)
  • Fire
  • Security
  • Flooding - ie: toilet/taps/shower/ceiling/pipes
  • Toilet not flushing
  • Hot water boiler leaking
  • Fridge/Freezer not working
  • Elevators (trapped inside or broken down)
  • Calls from Emergency services – Police, RCMP, Fire Department, EMS
  • Key/Lock Failure – broken/not working/key broken in lock
  • Electrical when sparking or where life-saving equipment involved
  • Gas/Suspicious odors

Who do I contact for an Emergency after business hours?

Residents can contact our 24 Hour Maintenance Line which is dedicated strictly to Northview Apartment REIT residents at 1-844-55-NORTH (66784). A live representative is available 24/7 to take your call and dispatch to your regional office to address.

How long should it take for Northview to handle a non-emergency maintenance request?

Northview's policy is to acknowledge receipt of all non-emergency maintenance requests within one business day and to have non-urgent requests completed within three business days unless parts need to be ordered or a contractor required. If a delay is expected, a Northview representative will discuss with the resident.

What happens when my lease is up?

Three months prior to the end of your lease, Northview will send you a renewal letter that outlines new rental rates based on a one year lease, six month lease, or a month-to-month term. Once you decide if you would like to renew with Northview, you will need to notify the regional office in writing of your desired lease term. If you need to move at the end of your lease, you are required to provide us, in writing, your notice to vacate based on the terms of your lease agreement.

For properties in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick your lease renews automatically for another year if you do not give three months' notice prior to the anniversary date.

Corporate rentals?

Northview offers corporate rentals at all of our properties, dependent on availability. For further information, complete the "Inquire Now" form for the property found on our website or call for more details.

Why choose Northview Apartment REIT?

Across Canada, our passion is providing our customers with a place to call home. These homes make up the neighborhoods where we are proud to live, work and play, alongside our residents, hotel guests and commercial tenants. At Northview, we focus on our people and properties to provide value for our residents and Unitholders, while investing in the communities we serve. For more reasons to choose Northview as your place to call home, please visit the "About us" and "Northview PROMISE" sections on our website.